The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare names their National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year Award recipient

Last night, our partners at the Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare announced the recipient of their National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year (NCCY) Award, a national recognition program that honors outstanding healthcare providers who display extraordinary devotion and compassion in caring for patients and families.

Of six nominees, this year’s NCCY Award recipient is Rick Boyte, MD. Dr. Boyte currently serves as a physician and division chief of pediatric palliative medicine at Batson Children’s Hospital at The University of Mississippi Medical Center, and is responsible for starting the pediatric intensive care unit and forming the palliative care team at the hospital. Dr. Boyte also chairs the hospital’s Ethics Committee and leads its Schwartz Center Rounds® program.

“Dr. Boyte listened to us and got to know us and our heart’s desires for our precious daughter,” said a patient’s mother. “He was sensitive to our every emotion, from joy, celebration and hope, to sorrow, grief and pain. He supported us in unimaginable ways. And I’m sure he would say he was just doing his job.”

During his remarks at the dinner, Dr. Boyte conveyed that the ability to express compassion is within all of us. Compassion always matters and can make a profound difference for patients. And to Dr. Boyte, his patients have always been his greatest source of inspiration. “I share this honor with my colleagues back home, and I also share it with those who most inspire my work—my patients and their families,” said Dr. Boyte. “They are my heroes and the most courageous people I’ve ever met. They’re just getting through their lives. And the love and devotion I’ve seen from families is amazing.”

We featured all six finalists on the PatientsLikeMe blog. In case you missed it, check out Dr. Boyte’s full story.

If you have a caregiver you’d like to recognize, stay tuned for nominations for the 2016 NCCY Award, which will open early next year. If you’d still like an opportunity to say “thank you” to your caregiver, learn more about Schwartz Center’s Honor Your Caregiver program, which celebrates everyday acts of compassion.

You can also join in on the forum conversation and share about a time when you received compassionate care from a healthcare provider.

Let’s celebrate compassionate care, together.

Share this post on Twitter and help spread the word.

Please follow and like us:

1 thought on “The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare names their National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year Award recipient”

  1. I would vote for three Doctors, two here in the Spokane Washington area and one in California. They are Dr. Merle Janes, Dr. Chris Valley and Dr. Forest Tennett

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top